10 September 2019 Newsletter

Find us:  haverhilldems.org/

Connect with us: Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Communicate with us: Tweet (@HaverhillMADemsor email  hdccnewsma@gmail.com.


Click here to see photos from the Annual Breakfast

Breaking News: HDCC Renames Annual Breakfast in Honor of Roz McKeon

Bill Cox, HDCC chair, announced at the end of the HDCC Annual Breakfast on September 7 that it would be renamed to the Roz McKeon HDCC Annual Breakfast, in recognition of Roz McKeon’s many years of chairing the Breakfast Committee. The stunned crowd was soon on its feet, applauding this welcome news. Roz was named Distinguished Democrat in 2009, the second year that the award was given. She served as vice-chair of the HDCC, and has chaired the Breakfast Committee for many years. Congratulations, Roz; well done, HDCC!

Annual Breakfast Recognizes Linda Dean Campbell as 2019 Distinguished Democrat 

Linda Dean Campbell, state representative for the city of Haverhill, is the 2019 HDCC Distinguished Democrat. Elected to the Massachusetts State House in 2006, she was honored for her tireless work on Haverhill issues, such as moving the Bradford Railyard Layover, civics education, improving veterans’ lives, and cleaning up the Merrimack River.

Also at the Breakfast, we heard speeches from Shannon Lis-Riordan, who is challenging Ed Markey for Senate, and Ralph Basiliere, the chair of the Vietnam Memorial Commission. The Commission is working to place an updated memorial honoring our Vietnam veterans in Haverhill. (Please consider donating.)

Lori Trahan gave the keynote speech, stressing that progress is being made in Congress. “We must,” she said, “protect the House majority, flip the Senate, and show President Trump the door.” Josiah Morrow then introduced Joe Sestak, Democrat for President. A former 3-star Navy Admiral, Sestak is running for President to create a more just economy, provide high quality affordable health care, and combat climate change.

Bill Cox then introduced Haverhill’s state Congressional delegation: state representatives Christina Miniccuci and Andy Vargas and state senator Diana DiZoglio followed by the School Committee members Rick Rosa, Gail Sullivan, Tom Grannamann, and Scott Wood. He also recognized Kay Herhily and Penelope Davis, who were dressed as suffragettes to promote the League of Women Voters Suffragette March on October 20. Mayor Jim Fiorentini spoke, reminding breakfasters that October 16 is the last day to register to vote in the November 5 local elections.

And then Joe LeBlanc held a surprise auction! He auctioned off two Moscow Mitch tee shirts for $100 and $75. This is definitely a boost to the HDCC’s fundraising efforts, and was enjoyed very much by the breakfasters. The Haverhill Latino Coalition was also honored at the breakfast for enabling Latinos to have a voice in local and state politics. The Latino Coalition began as an HDCC subcommittee on immigration. To close the breakfast, everyone participated in the straw poll. Please see results at the end of the newsletter.

News from the Committees

HDCC Action/Outreach Committee will meet again soon to gear up for the fall. Stay tuned for more details.


Action Items

  1.  Contact Senator DiZoglio at Diana.DiZoglio@masenate.gov or  (617) 722-1604 to urge her to support The Work and Family Mobility Act, which would provide driver’s license for everyone qualified regardless of immigration status: This bill will move to the MA Senate and House if the Transportation Committee provides a favorable report after the hearing at the State House last week.
  2. Please call Congresswoman Lori Trahan at (978) 459-0101 or (202)225-3411  to urge her to cut down the funds for agencies that are attacking immigrants, creating more prison camps, and stealing money from other programs to build a wall.


Coming Events

September 10, 2019, 4:30 – 6:30, Rally to Defund Hate, White’s Corner (corner of Main and Water Streets in front of Central Plaza). Signs will be available.

September 14, 2019, Democratic State Convention, details to come.

September 21, 2019, We the People March. Stay tuned for details.

October 19, 1 p.m. to 4 p.m., Haverhill City Council and School Committee Candidate Forum, UU Church of Haverhill, 16 Ashland St., Haverhill.

October 20, 2019, 1 p.m., League of Women Voters Suffragette March. Meet at the Basiliere Bridge.

Look at what our elected representatives are up to! 

Elizabeth Warren

Ed Markey

Lori Trahan 

Thank them, nag them, beg them — tell them how you feel! Until you have them on speed dial, find all of your representatives — state, local, and national — here!

Straw Poll Results


Michael Bennet – 0%                 Amy Klobuchar – 0%
Joe Biden – 24%                         Wayne Messam – 0%
Bill de Blasio – 0%                      Beto O’Rourke – 0%
Cory Booker – 1%                      Tim Ryan – 0%
Steve Bullock – 0%                     Bernie Sanders – 5%
Pete Buttigieg – 14%                  Joe Sestak – 11%
Julián Castro – 1%                     Tom Steyer – 0%
John Delaney – 0%                     Elizabeth Warren – 37%
Tulsi Gabbard – 1%                   Marianne Williamson – 0%
Kamala Harris – 5%                  Andrew Yang – -1%


James J. Fiorentini – 86%         Daniel S. Trocki – 14%


19% -Joseph J. Bevilacqua         56% – John A. Michitson
3% – Michael S. McGonagle       14% – Kenneth E. Quimby
48% -Douglas W. Edison             49% – Melinda Barrett
37% – Bill Macek                         30% – Timothy J. Jordan
52% -Nicholas J. Golden            36% – Mary Ellen Daly O’brien
34% – Fred A. Simmons                4% – Stavros A. Dimakis
47% -Thomas J. Sullivan             55% – Joseph Patrick Sherlock
6% – Shaun P. Toohey                   38% – Colin F. LePage


27% – Scott W. Wood, Jr.               48% – Sven A. Amirian
  8% – Stephanie Lyn Viola            51% – Thomas W. Grannemann
15% – Toni A. Sapienza-Donais     82% – Gail M. Sullivan